古老的大地

纯洁且珍贵

口味的选择 藏红花的储存

返回

浪漫的藏红花

藏红花的精神

藏红花在庆典中

藏红花与治疗
在药物中的应用

印度草医学:

在一些最古老的印度草医学论文中,如Charaka Samhita & Sushrutu Samhita(大约公元前500年)就有对藏红花有所记载.说藏红花是许多药用处方中非常重要的一种成分.像在Kumkum或Kesar中就有所提及.藏红花被作为是一些药方如Kashmiran, Bahleeka, Rudhira及Sankocha的代名词.在Singh和Chunckar(1972)的草药学中记录的文字如下:

藏红花是众多草医学药方中的重要成分, 由于藏红花具有巨大的药用价值,如强大高效的解毒,催化,强心剂,驱风,发汗,利尿,通经(月经)退烧,刺激,健身经补剂,镇静和止血性能,因此在印度草医学中得到了高度的认可,它被认为是治疗一种未知的小孩多动症的理想用品和疗效具佳的药品,它被用来治疗粉刺,中风,关节炎,哮喘病,疝气,消化不良, 昆虫叮咬和蜇伤,肝功能紊乱,精神错乱,精神衰弱,水肿,痛经,肺结核,脱肛,喉咙痛及鼻功能紊乱.藏红花也被作为一种治疗弱视的上等药品和面部美容的良药(Chopra et al., 1956: Kirukar & Basu, 1935).

藏红花的特性被用梵文记录过:

藏红花味苦,多脂,可治愈头痛病和痊愈伤口, 它气味刺激,可以止吐,它除了治这三种疾病以外,还可以使我们的身体充满光泽

藏红花味苦,刺鼻,性热,它可以止痰,治疗胃病,它可以使伤口愈合,明目和治疗头痛.又是一种非常好的解毒剂,它可以使人们容光焕发.

很多的印度草医学处方中都将藏红花作为一种重要成分:
Sharma, 1956; Sastri, 1954; Sastri, 1969; Gupta, 1970; Shastri & Chaturvedi, 1909).

Amritadya taila - (C.S.CI.28/160) 用来治疗精神错乱.

Balataila-
(C.S.CI.28/152) 用来治疗哮喘,咳嗽,发烧,呕吐,癫痫和脾脏肿大.

Chandrodaya Agada - (A.H.U.35/25) 作为解毒剂

Dwiharidraditailam- (Bhai. Rat. 60/107) 用于治疗粉刺.

Khadiraditaila-
(A.H.U. 22/84) 用于治疗口疾

Kumkumaditaila- (A.H.U. 32/27) 用于治疗灰白头发和粉刺.

Kumkumadi agada -
(S.S.Ka 8/49) 用于治疗昆虫叮咬.

Kumkum- (S.S.U. 58/31) 用于治疗尿路不通.

Kumkum-
(A.H.Su 3/15, 20) 用于治疗伤风.

Kumkum- (A.H.Ci. 1/37) 用于治疗发烧.

Kumkum-
(S.S.Ci 4/24) 用于治疗vatavyadhi

Kumkum- (S.S.Ka. 7/33) 用于治疗老鼠咬伤.

Kumkum Varti - (S.S.U. 12/13) 用于治疗结膜炎

Kumkum-
(A.II.Ci. 7/18) 用于治疗酒精中毒.

Kumkumadighrital- (Bhai. Rat. 14/282) 用于治疗咳嗽,气喘,肺结核,出血病.

Kumkumadighritam-
(Bhai. Rat. 60/103) 用于治疗粉刺及各种皮肤病.

Kumkumaditailam- (Bhai. Rat. 60/115) 用于治疗丘疹.

Mutrakrichhanashak Yoga - (C.S.Ci. 26/51) 用于治疗尿路不畅,尿频,尿痛.

Trimiradinashak Yoga -
(A.H.U. 13/23) 用于治疗翼状胬肉,白内障及皮肤病.

Unani药:

I藏红花属于性热和干燥的植物,因此记录显示它可被用来消肿止炎,作为兴奋剂及键胃药.同时它被认为是治疗肝脏肿大和膀胱泌尿系统感染的一种良药.但是剂量过大会使人不醒人事.它也是治疗月经不调的药方中不可或缺的一种成分.另外它也具有一种强心醒脑的功效.若将藏红花用水浸泡一整夜,然后拌上蜂蜜饮用可作为一种利尿剂.将藏红花搅烂并加入酥油可用于治疗糖尿病.藏红花油可以用来减轻子宫痛.提炼完藏红花油以后剩余的水还可入药.(Singh. 1949).

西药:

藏红花在西方各国被用于医药方面的历史从16世纪开始就有了纪录。在最早的在最早的Ebers 的记录中(大约公元前1550年)就注明藏红花作为治疗胃病的一种重要成分。 (Baumann.1960).公元一世纪著名的植物学家及药物学家Dioscorides of Anazarb将其强大万能的药性归功于藏红花的球茎。普岭呢(一世纪)也将这些归功与它。在接下来的几个世纪里,藏红花因为作为食物的一种添加品起到了健胃的效果而倍收欢迎。按照规定的剂量服用,据说可以增强食欲,缓和头痛和醒酒。在最近的几十年,他被用来治疗黏膜炎感染,耳炎,忧郁症,肝及脾脏的肿大。作为一种镇静药治疗驱风,diaphortic及通经。按照一定的剂量藏红可以用来安全引产,但是剂量过大的话会使人昏迷不醒。作为药物他可用来止血,促进新陈代谢,解热,利尿,健胃,杀菌和治疗痉琏。但是,如果小动物吃了藏红花球茎的话会引起中毒。(Basker & Negbi, 1983).

人们发现藏红花含有大量的维生素B2 (100 y/gm) 。在用白斑鼠作的实验里用150克维生素B2,而同两的藏红花就相当于40克纯人工制造的维生素B2。由于他富含藏红花酸能间接帮助降低血液里的胆固醇含量和动脉硬化症状,因此可以降低心脏病的发作率。西班牙的心血管疾病的发病率非常低下,这也许就是由于他们大量使用和消耗藏红花的原因吧。存在于藏红花的藏红花酸可以增加抗菌素的产量(Basker and Negbi, 1983)。他的结构即是3,5,5三甲基色氨酸 2氢基酸-1,4- cyclohesadion-2-烯和2,4,4-三甲基色氨酸1 3-甲基酸-6-氢基酸2,5cyclohexadion-1烯 可以支持和增加人体内生理活动的抗菌性和抗毒性(Zarghami & Heinz, 1971)。美国有时把藏红花用于治疗儿童的发疹病(Bontlay & Trumen, 1880)。Harwell的一份详细记录,基于Urdang的研究报告和一些古代和中世纪的报告显示:藏红花可以有效的消除肿瘤和具有抗癌作用。



注意

藏红花药性强烈,多服对身体有害。藏红花的服用剂量受许多因素影响象气候(天气的冷热),自己的年龄及身体状况,服用的方式剂量等。切记,服用藏红花一定要谨丛医嘱。



在用梵文记载的一本草本植物的医学百科全书的摘录:

藏红花香味刺鼻,可止痰,止吐,治疗喉咙痛,治疗闪痛,可以使人容光焕发。


克什米尔的藏红花有种荷花般的清香和高贵的品质。


Punjab的藏红花是种黄白色,并象ketaki 花一样的芳香。


泼斯的藏红花闻起来象蜂蜜一样,有些浅浅的黄白色并是一种多脂的藏红花。


象麻风病,头痛病及虫咬都可用藏红花治疗好。


可治愈胆汁过多,多痰和蚊虫叮咬。



Romance of saffron Spiritual saffron Ceremonial saffron Therapy & saffron

Ancient fields Pure and precious Taster's choice Saffron store Home
Uses in Medicine

Ayurveda:

Saffron gets mention even in the oldest Ayurvedic treatises like Charaka Samhita & Sushruta Samhita (approx. 500 B.C). It is an important ingredient of many medical recipes. Mentioned as Kumkum or Kesar it is also attributed several synonyms like Kashmiran, Bahleeka, Rudhira and Sankocha. Singh and Chunckar (1972) records its mentioned in Ayurvedic texts as below:

Saffron is as important ingredient of large number of Ayurvedic medicines. On account of its strong antipoisonous, aphrodisiac, cardiotonic, carminative, diaphoretic, diuretic, emmenagogue, febrifuge, stimulant, lactogogue, livotonic, nervine tonic, sedative and styptic properties it is highly valued in Ayurveda. It is considered an ideal Tridoshhara and a drug of immense efficacy in disorders of children of unknown actiology. It is used in acne, apoplexy, arthritis, asthma, colic, cough dyspepsia, hemierania, insect bites and stings, liver disorders, mental disorders, neurasthenia, oedema, painful menstruation, phthisis, prolapse of anus, sore throat and splenic disorders. It is attributed with extraordinary properties for improving weak eyesight and highly valued as a complexion builder (Chopra et al., 1956: Kirukar & Basu, 1935).

As per Ayurvedic Nighantus saffron is Snigdha, Laghu in Guna, Tikta in Rasa, Katu in Vipaka, Ushna in Virya and Tridoshhara.

The properties of saffron are mentioned in sanskrit:
Saffron is bitter, greasy and it cures head ailments and heals wounds. It is pungent, stops vomiting and gives brightness to the body as well as cures the three ailments.
Saffron is bitter, pungent and heaty. It stops phlegm and cures gastric problems. It heals wounds, eye and head ailments. It serves as an anti-venom. It also gives brightness to the body.

Some of the Ayurvedic recipes containing Saffron as an important ingredient
(Sharma, 1956; Sastri, 1954; Sastri, 1969; Gupta, 1970; Shastri & Chaturvedi, 1909).

Amritadya taila - (C.S.CI.28/160) Useful in mental disorders

Balataila- (C.S.CI.28/152) Useful in asthma, cough, fever, vomiting, epilepsy and splenic enlargement.

Chandrodaya Agada - (A.H.U.35/25) Used as antidote.

Dwiharidraditailam- (Bhai. Rat. 60/107) Useful in acne.

Khadiraditaila- (A.H.U. 22/84) Useful in mouth diseases.

Kumkumaditaila- (A.H.U. 32/27) Useful in premature grey hair and acne.

Kumkumadi agada - S.S.Ka 8/49) Useful in insect bites.

Kumkum- (S.S.U. 58/31) Useful in obstructed micturition.

Kumkum- (A.H.Su 3/15, 20) Useful in cold.

Kumkum- (A.H.Ci. 1/37) Useful in fever.

Kumkum- (S.S.Ci 4/24) Useful in vatavyadhi.

Kumkum- (S.S.Ka. 7/33) Useful in rat bite.

Kumkum Varti - (S.S.U. 12/13) Useful in conjunctivitis.

Kumkum- (A.II.Ci. 7/18) Useful in alcoholism.

Kumkumadighrital- (Bhai. Rat. 14/282) Useful in cough, asthma, pthisis, pulmonary tuberculosis, haemorrhagic diseases.

Kumkumadighritam- (Bhai. Rat. 60/103) Useful in acne, all types of skin diseases.

Kumkumaditailam- (Bhai. Rat. 60/115) Useful in pimples.

Mutrakrichhanashak Yoga - (C.S.Ci. 26/51) Useful in dysuria, stranguary, painful micturition.

Trimiradinashak Yoga - (A.H.U. 13/23) Useful in pterygium, cataract, skin diseases.

Unani Medicine:

It is considered hot and dry, reported to reduce inflammation and used as stimulant and stomachic. It is considered a good remedy for enlargement of liver and infection of urinary bladder and kidneys. Administered in high doses it makes patient unconscious. It is an ingredient of recipes useful in menstrual disorders. It strengthens the heart and is a refrigerant for the brain. If soaked overnight in water and administered with honey it acts as diuretic. Pounded with ghee it is used in diabetes. Saffron oil is used for external application in uterine sores. Remanent water after extracting oil from it is also used as medicine (Singh. 1949).

Western Medicine:

The use of Saffron in Western countries for medicinal purposes is in record from the sixteenth century. The Ebers Papyrus (Ca. 1550 B.C) has mentioned it as an ingredient in case of kidney problems (Baumann.1960). Dioscorides of Anazarb attributed magical medicinal properties to Saffron if worn as an amulet. Pliny (1st century) ascribed general panacean properties to it when taken internally. In the centuries to follow it was recommended as an addition to meals to give cheering cardiac medicament effect. In regulated doses, it is said to increase appetite and to ease headaches and hangovers. In recent decades, it has been recognised as a valuable remedy for catarrhal infections, useful in otitis, melancholia, enlargement of liver and spleen, as a nerve sedative, carminative, diaphortic and emmenagogue. In regulated doses, it can be used as a safe abortifacient but in higher doses it may be fatal as well. As a drug it is considered astringent, stimulant of metabolism, refrigerant, diuretic, antihusteric, stomachic, antiseptic and spasmodic. Saffron corms have however, very toxic effect when eaten by young animals (Basker & Negbi, 1983).

Saffron has been found to be the richest source of riboflavin (100 y/gm). In studies with albino rats it has been observed that 150 mg. Saffron acts at par with a dose of 40 mg pure synthetic riboflavin. Due to presence of crocetin it indirectly helps to reduce cholesterol level in the blood and severity of atherosclerosis, thus reducing the chances of heart attacks. It may be one of the prime reasons that in Spain, where Saffron is consumed liberally, incidence of cardio-vascular diseases is quite low. The crocetin present in saffron is found to increase the yield of antibiotics (Basker and Negbi, 1983). Two compunds of safranal viz., 3,5,5 trimethyl 2hydroxy-1, 4-cyclohesadion-2-ene and 2,4,4-trimethyl 1 3-formyl-6-hydroxy 2,5cyclohexadion-1ene are supposed to increase antibacterial and antiviral physiological activity in the body (Zarghami & Heinz, 1971). In the United States of America it is sometimes given to young children in exanthematous diseases for promoting eruptions (Bontlay & Trumen, 1880). A detailed compilation by Harwell (1969). based on Urdang’s reports and records of ancient and medieval periods etc., indicates antitumour and anticancerous activities in Saffron.



TAKE CARE!

Saffron is a potent spice. Excessive intake can be harmful. The dosage of saffron varies according to many conditions like climate (whether hot or cold), the health and age of the individual, the manner in which the dosage is taken etc.
Saffron should be taken for medical reasons always under proper medical advice.


Excerpts from a herbal medical cyclopaedia in sanskrit:

Saffron perfume is pungent, cures phlegm and throat ailments and stops vomiting. It stops shooting pain. Saffron gives a healthy glow and brightness to the body.
The saffron of Kashmir has an exquisite lotus-like fragrance and is of a high quality.
The saffron of Punjab has a yellow-white colour and an exquisite fragrance like that of the ketaki flower.
The Persian saffron smells like honey, has a slight yellow-white hue and is considered to be a fatty saffron.
Diseases such as leprosy, head ailments, insectbites are all cured by saffron which also unifies the three body humours.
Bile, phlegm and poisonous bites can all be cured by saffron.



Romance of saffron Spiritual saffron Ceremonial saffron Therapy & saffron